Research: Emma Eliza House (nee Cook)

My 2x great-grandmother Emma Eliza House (nee Cook) was born on 18th March 1881 in Tottenham, Edmonton in Middlesex. She was 1 of 10 known children; Alfred (1878-?), Alice (1879-?), Emma Eliza (1881-1961), William (1884-?), James (1886-?), Henry Elijah (1888-?), Lilian (1890-1901), John Frederick (1892-1963), Ernest (1894-?) and Alexander (1896-?). Their parents were Henry and Eliza Harriet Cook (nee Taylor).

I have found the baptism record for Emma. It states that the Cook family were living at 5 Vine Cottages, Tottenham, at the time of Emma’s baptism. Henry Cook, her father was a Platelayer.zoom Emma Eliza Cook Baptism.PNG

Emma married George House on 30th March 1907 in Fawley, Hampshire. I recently acquired a photo of their wedding from my grandmother’s cousin. For some reason, the couple has been cut out of a larger photo. We as a family are unsure of why but it could have been to go in a frame of some kind. At the time of their wedding, Emma was pregnant with her first son.

13022207_10209111252607946_276842937_n
Wedding of George and Emma

George and Emma lived at Fawley, Hampshire, where they went on to have a total of 4 children, the youngest being my great-grandmother Dorothy Annie May House, who was born in 1913.

The image below shows a newspaper article which reports an apparent ‘Unprovoked’ Assault. As amusing as it seems, I do not believe that it was unprovoked. Family members who knew Emma personally, have all told me that she would be able to stick up for herself as she could be fiery, but she would have never caused something unprovoked.

Emma Eliza Cook Newspaper

In 1919 the House family moved from Fawley, Hampshire to Paull, East Yorkshire. This was because George House had been posted at Paull Battery. He was a Royal Marine and had been given the opportunity, after his discharge from the forces. My grandmother, as well as other family members, have told me that Emma never liked living in the north – she preferred it down south.

The photograph below shows Emma stood between her two daughters; Lily (on the left) and Dorothy (on the right).

IMG_3385

Emma enjoyed going to the Royal Oak pub in Paull and enjoyed drinking a Whisky and Peppermint. My grandmother’s cousins have told me that Emma always had a pig in the sty, ready for Christmas. She would hang the pig up in the house, after preserving it for future use.

Emma House (Cook). Grandad George House.jpg
Emma and George House

In 1961, Emma was caught in a fire in her bedroom in Paull. This was caused by her nighty (dressing gown) catching fire on the electric heater. A lodger called Tom Dalton, who was living at the house, tried to help her by wrapping her up and attempting to carry Emma down the stairs. This, in fact, made the burns and injuries worse. On 13th February 1961, Emma sadly passed away as a result of her burns.

Emma is buried with her husband George in Paull, East Yorkshire. I am yet to find out the dates of burial. The photo below shows their gravestone. This photo was taken a while ago; I found it with my grandmother in her photographs.

Grave of Emma and George.jpg

Thank you for reading,
Tony.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Helen Porter (nee House) says:

    Oh, I didn’t realise Tom. the lodger, had carried Granny downstairs.I can remember what a sad day it was, when my dad walked into our living room and said Granny had died. I don’t know what happened to Tom or Granny’s dog, Patch, afterwards. I expect Tom looked after Patch.
    Mentioning the pig has reminded me of a story. We had a large tin bowl into which my mother would put a joint of pork and cover the meat with salt to preserve it. I can remember my mum being rather cross, once, when she noticed the salt had eaten a hole into the bowl. Nothing was wasted from a pig…..black pudding was made from the blood and brawn from the head etc. Because my mother was brought up on her parents farm, she knew exactly what to do with the pig.
    My mother, Dorothy, was married to George House, Emma Eliza’s eldest son.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Tony Beacock says:

      Yes he did, he obviously tried to do the best thing he could think of in order to help her but it unfortunately made it worse.

      I knew she had a dog but I didn’t know the name and I also didn’t think about what happened after granny had passed.

      That’s a great story, thank you Helen! Yes I suppose all meat was salted back then because there wasn’t the luxury of a fridge or freezer then!

      Like

Leave a Reply

